RSS

If It Can Be Measured, It Can Be Fixed

28 Mar

At some point on this weight loss journey, you’ll hit a wall. (I know I did) Get stuck in a rut. Spin your wheels and remain stuck. It’s normal. Your body is getting acclimated to your new routine. Perhaps it’s time to switch it up. I didn’t quite get it at first. I didn’t know what to do. Then it hit me. Review your food AND exercise journals. There right before my eyes was the information needed to break through the wall. Get ouf of my rut. Accelerate down the road heading to healthy-ville.

Although it takes time, writing down your daily food choices,the quanity, the time you ate, how you feel when you ate, etc.. definitely helps in the long run. You create a blueprint for your success. More importantly, you identify areas for improvement. If I was expecting to lose 6 lbs the previous week and only lost 1, I found it easier to deal with knowing I could review the previous week.

If you can measure it, you can fix it. There were times when I knew I’d see a big result only to get a minimal loss. Instead of letting it get to me, I simply reviewed my food/exericse logs. There I saw that maybe I did the same workout for the past month. Same weights, same reps, same set…. (Isn’t that the definiton of insantiy? Doing the same thing over and over again, expecting different results) So I tweaked my workouts and food. I increased weights by 10 – 20 lbs on my exercises. Or increased the resistance on the elliptical machine. Perhaps I decreased the time between meals or modified the amount of proteins I ate. It’s all about try, fail, adjust.

If you’re on this journey and not documenting the measurables, you’re doing yourself a disservice. Take the time to write down that information. It can make all the difference in the world!!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on 03/28/2012 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “If It Can Be Measured, It Can Be Fixed

  1. OCRERE

    03/30/2012 at 2:34 AM

    Nice blog….I really love it and it probably helps to keep you focused. I know, for me, it helps to see things written down.

    Like

     
    • antuanruss

      04/12/2012 at 3:49 PM

      I’m glad you love the blog! Thank you for taking the time to read it. I don’t take that for granted!

      Like

       

What are your thoughts?